Your online guide

2.5 The Australian Warning System


The Australian Calls to Action System is a new national approach to information and Calls to Actions for hazards like bushfire, flood, storm, cyclone, extreme heat and severe weather. 

There are three warning levels. A warning provides point-in-time information about a hazard that is impacting or is expected to impact communities. It describes the impact and expected consequences for communities and includes advice on what people should do.

Advice (Yellow) 

An incident has started. There is no immediate danger. Stay up to date in case the situation changes.

Watch and Act (Orange) 

There is a heightened level of threat. Conditions are changing and you need to start taking action now to protect yourself and your family.

Emergency Warning (Red) 

An Emergency Warning is the highest level of warning. You may be in danger and need to take action immediately. Any delay now puts your life at risk.

Each warning level has a set of specific action statements which vary according to the nature of the emergency. The System uses a nationally consistent set of icons for each type of threat (see graphic below).

For more information: https://www.australianwarningsystem.com.au

Harrington & Surrounds website is owned & maintained by the Harrington & Surrounds Business & Community Association Incorporated.


For more businesses in our area: